Resume

Sign in

Iowa State University Student

Location:
Ames, IA
Posted:
October 30, 2018

Contact this candidate

Resume:

Erin E. Carmichael

ac7j2e@r.postjobfree.com 641-***-****

Current Address Permanent Address

**** ******** ** ** #**** 413 N 8th St

Ames, IA 50010 Marshalltown, IA 50158

Professional Summary

Student at Iowa State University seeking hands-on experience in the financial or business field. Organized, professional, flexible, and eager to learn new skills.

Education

Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

College of Human Sciences

Major: Financial Counseling & Planning

Minor: General Business

GPA 3.66/4.00

Marshalltown Community College, Marshalltown, Iowa

Associate of Arts, December 2016

Major: Liberal Arts

GPA 3.67/4.00

Academic Honors

Marshalltown Community College Dean’s List-2015-2016

Iowa State University Dean’s List-2017

National Honor Society in Human Sciences: Phi Upsilon Omicron-2018

Related Experience

Bergman CPA Tax & Accounting, Marshalltown, Iowa

Accounting Intern

Scanned documents and organized files

Assisted in payroll data entry

Put together client tax organizers

Other Work Experience

Child Welfare Research & Training Project, Iowa State University

Undergraduate Office Assistant

Conducted research

Assisted in projects

Marshalltown Company, Marshalltown, Iowa

Maintenance Intern

Scanned documents and organized files

Fareway Food Stores, Marshalltown, Iowa

Cashier and Cash Clerk

Checked out groceries and handled transactions

Counted cash drawers, made deposits, and kept track of safe

Why you should hire me/what caught my eye about client onboarding position: I am a very organized person and have great attention to detail when it comes to documentation. At my current position, I often help proofread and double check organization on our projects and website. I feel like this position could help excel my skills in that area and I think I could help contribute to your company.

What I know about Workiva: From my understanding, you guys are a company that provides a data collaboration and reporting platform for various accounting, consulting, and technology companies and that you believe in always doing what’s right and ethical.

About me: I am from Marshalltown, Iowa and I graduated high school there and went to the community college there and got my Associate’s degree. I transferred to Iowa State and I’m now a senior expecting to graduate in May. My major started out in Accounting but I changed it to Financial Counseling and Planning my second semester because I want a career with a finance component and a humanistic aspect as well. I’ve worked in various office settings throughout my time in college so I’ve had a decent amount of experience with basic documentation techniques and other daily office duties

Why I want the job: I feel like organization and detailed and concise documentation is something I excel at, so I think I could contribute a lot to your company. I also think you guys could help me increase my skills in that area. From what I can tell, Workiva seems like a great place to work with a great atmosphere, so that attracts me as well.

Greatest professional strengths: Communication. When I have a question or concern, I’m not afraid to ask. I’m also very organized, as I stated earlier. I’m very reliable and flexible with tasks, so I’m always willing to try new things.

Weakness: Creativity. I’m not the most creative person at times. I try to keep an open mind but I’d say I am definitely more a left-brained person.

Professional conflicts: When I worked at Fareway as a cashier, they moved me up to working in the office there. I would count money and make deposits and keep track of the safe. Usually they train people about 6 times but I was only trained twice and they let me be on my own. It was challenging but I did a good job at it.

Another conflict: would be when I worked at Parks and Recreation this summer as their recreation assistant. I was told to create a budget plan for the next year for our aquatic center and I’d never done something like that before. But I put my mind to it and finished the task. I made sure to ask lots of questions along the way. It was a great learning experience.

Achievements: being able to join the National Honor Society in the college of human sciences. We do various service projects throughout the year and have monthly meetings. Also applying for scholarships and receiving them.

My dream job is doing something I truly enjoy and excel at. I could see myself working in payroll or working in a financial firm. Really I’m open to a lot of opportunities, as long as I enjoy it and have a good work and social life balance.

Questions for them: What would a typical day look like in the client onboarding position? What’s your favorite part about working at Workiva?



Contact this candidate